Full Count Vintage Baseball Card Forum
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

color sets to recommend?

+14
nolemmings
arandy
bowlingshoeguy
ItsOnlyGil
3-2-count
sabrjay
cmoking
Bicem
psacollector
Gary!
CobbSpikedMe
TheBig6
Square_Frame_Ramly
Aron V
18 posters

Page 1 of 2 1, 2  Next

Go down

color sets to recommend? Empty color sets to recommend?

Post by Aron V Fri Apr 18, 2008 4:57 pm

Hello. I have been reading this website for a few weeks but just registered today. Very nice site!

I am still pretty new to pre-war cards. I bought my first one on ebay almost 6 months ago. It's a t206 John McGraw portrait and I love it even though it has some creases on the corners. Since then I've been trying to get more t206 hall of famer cards. I like getting the great players on a tobacco card and then looking up their stats on the net.

I wanted to ask something to the experts. Since I like the color cards (not a big fan of black and white cards) what other sets do you recommend I look into? I like the big names but probably can't afford to pay more than $50-$60 per card right now. I don't mind getting them in rough shape. I have been looking at some of the caramel cards and they are real nice but kind of pricey.

Thank you,
Aron
Aron V
Aron V
Minor Leaguer
Minor Leaguer

Trader Points :
color sets to recommend? Left_bar_bleue0 / 1000 / 100color sets to recommend? Right_bar_bleue

Back to top Go down

color sets to recommend? Empty Hi...

Post by Square_Frame_Ramly Fri Apr 18, 2008 5:05 pm

Welcome aboard and hope that you will be very comfortable here.

I have always liked the M116 Sporting Life set. Its not a tobacco card but they are all portrait cards with all the stars of the time.

some people say they don't like the colors (pastel and Bluebackgrounds) but i think that the pastels are actually different on most cards.

Also, the prices seem to be reasonable.

Mark
Square_Frame_Ramly
Square_Frame_Ramly