Full Count Vintage Baseball Card Forum
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

Jamie Moyer, a Gentleman.

+2
sabrjay
pariah1107
6 posters

Go down

Jamie Moyer, a Gentleman. Empty Jamie Moyer, a Gentleman.

Post by pariah1107 Tue Apr 09, 2013 9:47 pm

I went to Safeco Field last night for opening day with a client. I am a nurse. After entering Safeco near the Broadcast booth we waited for an elevator. Jamie Moyer (who threw out the opening pitch) was also there. The elevator came and Moyer, his wife, and others boarded but we were "in line". He waived us aboard and made room for my clients wheelchair. This sounds so sappy... but we (as a nurse/client unit) are typically invisible in social environments or worse regarded as an ADA nuisance. He was a polite gentleman, who with one simple gesture MADE Opening Day for us.

The only thing I could muster was a "Welcome back to Safeco Field, Mr. Moyer", but I'd like to say thank you to a truly class act.

Please share more stories of players being classy....
pariah1107
pariah1107
Legend
Legend

Trader Points :
Jamie Moyer, a Gentleman. Left_bar_bleue0 / 1000 / 100Jamie Moyer, a Gentleman. Right_bar_bleue

Back to top Go down

Jamie Moyer, a Gentleman. Empty Re: Jamie Moyer, a Gentleman.

Post by sabrjay Tue Apr 09, 2013 10:52 pm

I was lucky enough to go to dinner with a group of people that included Joe DiMaggio. I was told there was only one rule for attending this dinner, you were not allowed to talk about or ask about Marilyn Monroe. I said not a problem. I want to talk baseball. He was very nice and answered all questions. Made for a great meal I'll never forget.
sabrjay
sabrjay
Dunderhead
Dunderhead

Trader Points :
Jamie Moyer, a Gentleman. Left_bar_bleue25 / 10025 / 100Jamie Moyer, a Gentleman. Right_bar_bleue

http://fullcountforum.com/

Back to top Go down

Post by jbonie Wed Apr 10, 2013 12:43 am